CNYLDP Reflection

Recently, I found this infographic from Butler/Till that explains the difference between a leader and a boss. This image was eye-opening for me as I began to associate the qualities of a good leader that I needed to continue to develop. I appreciated how this image could be used for any culture, public sector or private sector. I do not want to be a boss or an authority figure, but a leader that encourages and inspires my colleagues and students to have a growth mindset.

A boss is one-sided, and “it’s my way or the highway,” while a leader has an effective team that assists with driving decisions. An effective leader inspires trust and communicates fully with the team. Coming from a family of educators and being in education for almost four years, I have done copious amounts of listening and observation of my surroundings during my time at graduate school and educational career.

The biggest difference I noticed in this image included the concept of commands versus asks. With asking, a leader communicates the why of something with the stakeholder. Workers must be able to trust their leader and not be afraid of going to them with questions or concerns. In turn, leaders must wholly communicate and encourage people to grow; if these items are not part of a culture (whether it’s business, education, public sector or private sector) the environment will turn toxic, negative and people will be afraid and distrusting.

Capture.PNG

Leave a Reply

