CNYLDP Reflection

In class last week, we talked a lot about the difference between feedback versus criticism. We constantly provide feedback to students, but do we provide meaningful feedback to colleagues or negative criticism? After some reflection, I began to understand more of the differences between feedback and criticism:

Feedback Criticism
  • Culture of trust and safety
  • Two-way conversations
  • Celebrates what went well, but has an open conversation about what are areas that could be improved. Specific and clear goals, expectations to show growth and improvement
  • Non-confrontational and open communication between people conversing
  • Blame
  • Negative conversations: only focuses on what went wrong and fault is with the person being evaluated
  • No plan to move forward or grow as a professional
  • Power struggles
  • One-way conversation
  • Close-ended questions and answers; no specific advice

No matter who I converse with, I need to provide a culture of meaningful feedback, whether it’s peers or students. To begin this, I feel I already have created a culture of trust and safety in the library. Without that in place, no meaningful conversations can even begin to take place. I do have to continue to promote this trusting culture-it’s not something that you never stop working at. I hope colleagues know that I keep information confidential and can actively listen.

However, as I become a teacher-leader there are some items I need to work on to provide effective feedback in the future. One huge takeaway for me from this last class was being specific and as clear as possible for growth plans. It is helpful to have a big picture in mind, but the little details along the journey are needed, as well. I need to set more specific goals and clear deadlines. We provide clear expectations and goals to students, so why would adult learners be any different?

Also, in the last class, we received some information about what type of feedback learning style most correlates with us as individuals. After reading through the packet, I determined I am instrumental learner (rule-follower) for feedback. To feel successful, I need to know what is expected of me and have clear examples of expectations.

My formal observation is coming up soon, and I want to share with my principal in the pre-conference this information about my learning style, so my post-conference will be more successful. Also, we will have the opportunity to peer-poach a colleague. I want to share these learning styles for feedback so I know what type of learner he or she is. This information will help me provide more effective feedback. I’m excited to share this information to see if there are more effective takeaways and plans for growth.

Leave a Reply

