Impressions of Schoology: Part 2

A few months ago, I wrote an post of my thoughts on Schoology. So far, the site has lived up to expectations. It is social and intuitive. Everything is where you think it should be. It feels good to be back on a LMS like this.

For about two years, I was a grad assistant for Blackboard, Coursesites and the instructional design department for my program. I loved assisting with tech questions, having to think outside the box to make something work and come up with solutions. I loved helping teachers and students learn to use the tools in online and face-to-face settings. Now, there is the opportunity to do this again with Schoology at my school. 

After training and tinkering with the site, here are the answers to my initial questions:

  • What browser works best with this? All browsers, even Internet Explorer. I still prefer Google Chrome, though.
  • What grade levels could this work for most effectively? Will my younger grades understand what’s happening? This site is recommended for effective use with second-grade and up. I do wish the site had a more kid-friendly feel for students in second-grade and below.
  • How can I use this site to enhance the library and my specific classes? So far, I have developed a 5-week course on digital citizenship for my sixth-graders. I also have a blogging introduction course for my fifth-graders and plan to make Iroquois and colonial life collaboration courses. Who knows what else?
  • How can I use this for collaboration with PLC and PBL? I have made two groups so far: Assessment information and Lab/Cartridge/Laptop directions for the staff at my building. I would also like to use this for a collaborative site for the other LMS in my district.
  • Can I migrate content between courses and copy another course into a new one? Yes! Like most LMS, Schoology has this capability, as well. 
Leave a Reply

