What Do You Do With A Professional Collection?

One of my goals this summer is to weed the professional collection. We have about 600 books, binders and textbooks in this collection. Looking at the statistics for this collection, hardly anything has been checked out in years. There are old curriculum binders, educational strategies from the 70s. It looks like a lot of graduate-school textbooks are in the collection, as well.

I started to think. Where are teachers getting ideas to improve strategies and teaching methods? After asking a few teachers, the Internet and journals were some of the answers. Then I asked myself, “Where do I go for new ideas, professional development?” I said Twitter, listservs and the Internet. Though not all professional improvement is on the Internet or social media, it is more so than in the past.

In the next two years, I want to build a more online, collaborative professional collection on the library’s website. Post links to helpful sites, post best practices highlighted in a journal or magazine article or invite guest posts to a teacher blog or wiki. This is something to think about in the next few years, especially as where and how we get out information becomes more Internet-based.

Do you have any ideas or suggestions for me about a professional collection? Please let me know.

Leave a Reply

