Facebook goes public, I deactivate my account

Almost a week ago, I deactivated my Facebook account. I wasn’t really using it anymore, and I wanted to build my network on Twitter. The first few hours after the account was deactivated, I had a slew of text messages and DM on Twitter asking “Where did your Facebook go?”

I simply responded, “I deactivated my account.”

Immediately, friends started asking why I did this-did I need to talk-is everything OK. I did not think that people would perceive this action as tragic. It’s like I did something so heinous no one else would do. Some called me crazy, while others asked how to keep in touch.

In the past week, there has been more time spent reading books, focusing on work and more sleep. I am not glued to my laptop or Android checking out the latest status update. It feels like freedom, and I do not miss stalking people’s news feeds anymore.

Leave a Reply

