Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Milkshake

Tonight, I watched Julie and Julia. Instead of a classic glass of wine, hot cup of coffee or a micro brew, I decided to finally use my blender to make a milkshake. I looked in my fridge to see what was there-I had a carton of cookie dough frozen yogurt, 2 percent milk, vanilla almond soy milk and peanut butter.

Milkshakes bring back memories of growing up. Every Sunday night in the summer, my parents would pile my sisters and I into the car after dinner. We would head to a different ice-cream shop to eat ice-cream cones and shakes, and then go on for drives looking at houses in the area. My parents never bought any of the houses they said they wanted, but we always pictured ourselves living in Sedgewick mansions or newly-constructed homes in Camillus. We just drove, and dreamed.

As I made my cookie-dough milkshake tonight, I thought about my parents and sisters. We do not do those Sunday drives anymore. We do not go to our favorite ice-cream shop anymore. We’ve grown up, and now have different responsibilities and dreams. I still keep hold of my childhood memories though.

Anyways, here is my recipe for cookie-dough milkshakes:

  • 4 scoops cookie dough frozen yogurt
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 c. vanilla almond soy milk
  • 1 tbsp. peanut butter

Blend in blender for 2 minutes. Makes enough for two people at one glass each.

Leave a Reply

