Randomness at my best

Besides a few small admin items, my spring semester is almost done. A lot has happened this semester. My oldest sister and her husband are expecting identical twins in October. My niece turned three. Both my parents are retiring in the next few weeks after working for more than 35 years. My best friend from college got married. My boyfriend and I broke-up earlier this semester. I’ve gained confidence designing and giving presentations about social media to local schools, undergrad classes and businesses in the area. I’ve read a lot of books. I’ve strengthened my relationships with my two best friends. I’ve had a few weeks where I thought I would never be happy again. I laughed. I cried. I drank good beer and wine. I cried some more. I learned how to smile again. I learned how to get back to me. I’ve taken zumba classes. I go for long walks. I drink new flavors of coffee. I’ve discovered Instagram. I’ve learned to live, laugh and love.

My mother told me that the world expects you to know what you want to do when you are 18 years old. After you step off that graduation stage in high school, you have a plan. Well, my plan six years ago is so different from now. I’m looking forward to finishing my practicum at the high school, and working at the iSchool. I’m looking forward to spending precious last minutes with my friends who will be graduating. I’m looking forward to reading a boat-load of books that have been sitting in my bookcase for months. I’m looking forward to helping my sister get ready for the babies. I’m looking forward to warmer weather and spending time outside.

Leave a Reply

