Librarian Stereotype #2: Librarians Love Pride and Prejudice

Colin Firth in a wet T-shirt. We watch BBC’s adaptation of P & P countless times, and quote every line in the movie. We want to marry Colin Firth, and have his babies.

It’s another common misconception that all librarians love Jane Austen, specifically Pride and Prejudice.

Some of my library friends love Pride and Prejudice, but a large number do not like Jane Austen. They are not fans of British literature; some prefer non-fiction, while others love Japanese graphic novels.

I admit I follow the librarian stereotype-I love Jane Austen and Colin Firth. But my favorite novel by the author is Emma, and I loved Colin Firth when I saw him in the movie Valmont.

4 thoughts on “Librarian Stereotype #2: Librarians Love Pride and Prejudice

  1. Yay! I’m of the type that doesn’t care for Jane Austen, although I make exceptions for zombie parodies of her work.

    Unfortunately, I do fall into the stereotype of being clueless about movies in general, and had to look up who Collin Firth was. I am embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

