Librarian Stereotype #1: Librarians love reading books, and own hundreds of books.

When people discover I am a library and information science student, the first reaction I receive is this: “You don’t look like a librarian.”

What does a librarian look like? There are hilarious stereotypes and negative media images about an old lady who wears cardigans and buns. She has cats at home, and she loves Jane Austen.  

I plan to dedicate a portion of this blog to explain and demystify librarian stereotypes. Enjoy!

Librarian Stereotype #1: Librarians love reading books, and own hundreds of books.

Though I have a small “library” at my apartment, and love reading, dozens of my peers and LIS professors are not big readers.  Instead of books, they read blog posts, Tweets and articles from newspapers or magazines.

In one of my introduction classes, our professor asked the class who constantly reads, and who does not read often. More than half the class raised hands as not huge readers. This surprised me.

As I’ve networked with professors, librarians in the Syracuse area and other students, I’ve inquired as to whether or not these individuals like to read or not. I’ve received mixed replies, but more than half have been not huge fans of reading books.

3 thoughts on “Librarian Stereotype #1: Librarians love reading books, and own hundreds of books.

  1. As someone who is studying to be a librarian, I am surprised that there are so many librarians who aren’t big readers. I would be curious to know whether there’s any correlation between people who want to work in business or law libraries versus public libraries and whether or not said people are readers.

  2. Going into my program, I thought the same thing!

    A professor of mine managed corporate libraries, and she said she was not a huge reader of books, but read more blogs and magazines. These are much shorter, and provide a faster read. It would be interesting to find out more about the job history or interests of these people who are not big book readers compared to those who are!

Leave a Reply

